Wed, 01 Dec 2021 Today's Paper

Colombo YMBA Scholarship Awards Ceremony 2020

26 February 2020 01:11 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony organized by the Colombo YMBA for the 32nd consecutive year was successfully concluded at the Colombo YMBA main hall recently. The Chief Guest on the occasion was the Vice Chancellor of the Colombo University Prof. Chandrika N. Wijeyarathne and the special Guest of Honour was 2000 Sydney Olympics Silver Medalist Deshabandu Susanthika Jayasinghe.   

This year a record number of 516 undergraduates and 75 G.C.E. A/L students were awarded scholarships and the total value allocated by the Colombo YMBA for the year 2020 was Rs 13.30 million.   

  • Major funding for the scholarship awards are received from Trust Funds established by the Colombo YMBA 
  • A record number of 516 undergraduates and 75 G.C.E. A/L students were awarded scholarships

The function was organised under the leadership of the President of the Colombo YMBA Mr M. Ariyaratne, Vice President & Branch Secretary, Trust Funds and Skills Development Committee Mr Anura Serasingha and Hon. General Secretary Mr Mahendra Jayasekara. A total 516 bright and deserving undergraduates attached to state universities of Sabaragamuwa, Peradeniya, Ruhuna, Rajarata, Wayamba, Uva-Wellassa, Eastern University, Moratuwa, Jaffna, Colombo, Kelaniya, Sri Jayawardenapura, South-Eastern and Visual Art Performance who are from lower income Samurdhi recipient families were the recipients.   

A total 75 G.C.E. A/L students attached to schools neighbouring the Colombo YMBA Borella, namely, Gothami Balika Vidyalaya, Yashodara Balika Vidyalaya, Susamayawardhana Vidyalaya, D.S. Senanayake College, Ratnavali Balika Vidyalaya, Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Ananda Balika Vidyalaya, Ananda College, Nalanda College, as well as students of Kataragama Vidyalaya, Sella Kataragama Vidyalaya and Welioya Sampath Nuwara Jathika Pasala were awarded scholarships on the basis of recommendations received from the principals of the respective schools.   

516 bright and deserving undergraduates attached to state universities who are from lower income families were the recipients

Major funding for the scholarship awards are received from Trust Funds established by the Colombo YMBA based on substantial donations received from various distinguished personalities over several decades. Such trust funds  established are Dr D.J. Attygalle Property Trust Fund, Dr Prithviraj Peiris Trust Fund, Irwin Weerackody Trust Fund, Ajita de Zoysa Trust Fund, Matilda Hewavisenthi Trust Fund, Sir Baron Jayatilaka Trust Fund, Sir Cyril de Zoysa Trust Fund, L.R. Goonetilleke Trust Fund, Welcome Break UK Tsunami Trust Fund, Eric Amarasinghe Trust Fund, Dr D.P. Athukorale Trust Fund, D.S.P.S de Silva Trust Fund, D.D.M. Simon Silva Trust Fund, Shrima Jayasekara Tsunami Trust Fund, Solomon Abeyaekara Trust Fund, Sidath Sri Nanadalochana Trust Fund, R.L. Piyasena Trust Fund, Shermon & Sons Trust Fund, B de S Abeyratne Trust Fund, Deshabandu Tilak de Zoysa Trust Fund, S.L. Gunasekara Trust Fund, A.L.D.A. Jayawardena Trust Fund, Seetha Athukorale Trust Fund. In addition Sponsorship for the 2020 awards were also received from individuals based in Sri Lanka and overseas to support these bright & deserving students following various degree courses and A/L classes.  The Chief Guest and the Special Guest of Honour namely Prof Chandrika N. Wijerathne and Deshabandu Susanthika Jayasinghe, two outstanding personalities who have achieved excellence in the field of academics and sports respectively, addressing the large number of scholarship award recipients delivered inspiring speeches stressing the importance to work hard with dedication and commitment and at the same give importance to cultivating good qualities to be exemplary and worthy citizens of our motherland.   

The students of Ananda Balika Vidyalaya, Colombo 08, voluntarily representing their school recited a song for the 6th consecutive year, to appreciate the management of the Colombo YMBA.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter

Bittersweet memories of a ‘City that never slept’

At the heart of Eastern Province lies a now abandoned ghost town punctuated w