Sun, 28 Nov 2021 Today's Paper

Chara Dasas under Jaimini System For making predictions more accurate and precise

DM Astro 133

28 February 2020 04:45 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Most astrologers follow the Parasara System in Vedic Astrology for making predictions. However, the savants of the science generally accept the fact that the application of the Jaimini system is helpful in making predictions more accurate and precise. Therefore, it is useful for students of Astrology to get familiar with the terms as well as methods that
come in Jaimini system. 


Jaimini system for fine-tuning predictions
Most astrologers who follow the Parasara system of Astrology use the Vimshottari Dasa system for predicting events with timing. However, some of them follow the Chara Dasa method that comes in Jaimini System to fine-tune their predictions. 

The general reader may also often come across the term, Chara Dasas when reading classical works as well as feature articles by veteran astrologers. Therefore, it is a great advantage for both students and practitioners to become conversant with at least the rudiments of the Chara Dasa System. The Chara Dasa system is based on the Chara Karaka system. So, let us first understand what Chara Karakas are.


Chara Karakas – the foundation of Chara Dasa system
Chara Karakas or movable or inconstant karakas are planets other than Rahu and Ketu who gain karaka status by the virtue of the distance they have travelled at a given moment in their respective Rashis or signs. (However, some savants hold the view that Rahu and Ketu too should be given karaka status.) There are seven Chara Karakas. They are: 1. Atmakaraka 2. Amatyakaraka 3. Bhatrukaraka 4. Matrukaraka 5. Putrakaraka 6. Gnatikaraka and Strikaraka. 

Atmakaraka (AK):  The planet which attains the highest longitude or travelled the longest distance in each sign is Atmakaraka. Atma is the soul, the spiritual part of a person and therefore, the most important part of a person. Our life on earth is nothing but the journey of the soul which represented by AK in a horoscope.  AK represents all significations of the Lagna or the 1st Bhava such as Body, physique, appearance, complexion, intellect, character, general health, longevity, fame and strengths and weaknesses etc.

Amatyakaraka (AmK):  The planet that gains the second highest degree of longitude in the sign where it is placed becomes the Amatyakaraka (AmK). Amatya means Minister. The person holding the highest office. The AmK provides the clue to judging the significations of the 2nd House in the Horoscope viz: financial status, primary education, livelihood/occupation or profession, speech, family, food habits, face, right eye, attire etc. Amatyakaraka also is the key to ascertain the significations of the 5th House, namely: learning, progeny, knowledge, status, speculation, innovative skills, entertainment etc.  Amatyakaraka rules the 9th and 10th Houses as well. The 9th House denotes higher education, fortune, Metaphysics, Dharma etc. and the 10th House career, honour, ups and downs in the profession, royalty, pilgrimage, foreign travels etc. 


Bhatrukaraka (BK): The planet that gains the 3rd highest longitude in the sign it is placed becomes the Bhatrukaraka. Bhatru means brothers and BK rules the 3rd House which denotes younger brothers, neighbours, short journeys, courage, hobbies, ability and death of parents etc. The BK holds the key to judging the significations of the 9th and 11th Houses as well. The 9th House denotes father, guru, long journeys, religion, higher education etc. and the 11th House fulfillment of aspirations, elder brothers and sisters, gains, friends,
expectations etc. 

Matrukaraka (MK): The planet that gains the fourth highest longitude in the sign it is placed is conferred with the status of Matrukaraka (MK).  The significations of the 4th House come under the purview of MK. They are mother, property, vehicles, happiness, education, relatives, land and agriculture and the relationship
with the state. 

Putrakaraka (PK): The planet that gains the fifth highest longitude becomes the Putrakaraka. Putra means sons. The significations of the 5th House come under PK. They are children, wisdom, romance, intellect, speculation, rituals to invoke blessings of spirits and deities, pregnancy, creativity etc. 

Gnatikaraka (GK): The planet that gains the sixth highest longitude is the Gnatikaraka. Gnati means relations.  GK represents the 6th House which denotes apart from relations enemies, maternal relatives, disease, debts, disputes, competitions, litigation, servitude etc. The significations of the 8th and the 12th House too come under the purview of GK. 

Strikaraka (SK): The seventh and the last in the Karaka order is Strikaraka. Stri in this context is spouse – wife. The term, Dara is also used in this regard. All that that is ruled by the 7th House come under the purview of Strikaraka. They are spouse, business-partner, trade, foreign travel, conferment of titles and honours, the public image etc. 
(To be continued) 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter

Bittersweet memories of a ‘City that never slept’

At the heart of Eastern Province lies a now abandoned ghost town punctuated w