Sat, 20 Jul 2024

Tharanga opts out of Test cricket

National limited-over skipper Upul Tharanga has decided to pull out of Test cricket for six months in order to concentrate on white-ball cricket.

Accordingly, Tharanga has not been named in the 25-man provisional squad for the forthcoming series against Pakistan starting later this month in UAE.

He opened the batting for Sri Lanka against India recently accumulating 88 runs in 6 innings with one-half century.

Also missing the tour are injured all-rounder Asela Gunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Janith Perera. Gunaratne suffered an injury during the first Test against India and is yet to recover.

The squad also see the return of seamer Dhammika Prasad, Kaushal Silva, Shaminda Eranga, Jeffrey Vandersay

Prasad last played Tests in 2015 against West Indies before he picked up a back injury during the England tour in 2016.

Kaushal Silva, the right-handed opening batsman who was dropped after the South Africa Tests have also been recalled.

Eranga comes back to the side after a long layoff having being suspended for a suspect bowling action. After successfully remodeling his action, ICC cleared him for resume bowling.

Right-arm leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay who is yet to play Test cricket has also been named along with off-spinner Akila Dhananjaya.

Roshen Silva who has been a prolific performer in domestic cricket has also been added along with Sadeera Samarawickrama and former U19 Sri Lanka captain Charith Asalanka.

The tour comprised of 2 Tests that include a Day & Night game in UAE.


1. Dimuth Karunaratne

2. Kaushal Silva

3. Kusal Mendis

4. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain

5. Angelo Mathews

6. Lahiru Thirimanne

7. Niroshan Dickwella

8. Sadeera Samarawickrama

9. Rangana Herath

10. Suranga Lakmal

11. Nuwan Pradeep

12. Lakshan Sandakan

13. Vishwa Fernando

14. Lahiru Kumara

15. Jeffrey Vandersay

16. Milinda Siriwardana

17. Dhananjaya de Silva

18. Dushmantha Chameera

19. Dilruwan Perera

20. Malinda Pushpakumara

21. Roshen Silva

22. Akila Dananjaya

23. Charith Asalanka

24. Shaminda Eranga

25. Dhammika Prasad

  Comments - 1

You May Also Like