Bangladesh stun Australia for historic Test win

30 August 2017 02:49 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


DHAKA AFP Aug30, 2017: Bangladesh registered their first ever win over Australia in Test cricket, beating Steve Smith's men by 20 runs in a thrilling opening game in Dhaka on Wednesday.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan took five wickets for 85 runs to help the hosts bowl out Australia for 244 shortly into the second session on the fourth day.

David Warner top scored with 112 for the tourists, who were chasing a target of 265 after bowling out Bangladesh for 221 in the second innings.

Shakib lived up to his billing as the world's number-one Test all-rounder, finishing with a match haul of 10 wickets and making 84 in Bangladesh's first-innings total of 260.

Australia appeared to be coasting towards their fifth consecutive Test win against Bangladesh when Warner and Smith resumed the day on 109 for two.

But left-arm spinner Shakib brought Bangladesh back into the game, dismissing both Warner and Smith (37) to put pressure on the former number-one Test side.

Australia are currently ranked fourth to Bangladesh's lowly ninth.

Shakib's spin partner Taijul Islam chipped in with three wickets to cap a memorable day for the side dubbed the Tigers.

Pat Cummins hit a valiant 33 not out with three fours and two sixes in a late charge but failed to stop the inevitable.

The second Test will be held in Chittagong from September 4-8.

Bangladesh first innings: 260 (Shakib Al Hasan 84, Tamim Iqbal 71;A. Agar 3-46, P. Cummins 3-63, N. Lyon 3-79)

Australia first innings: 217 ( M. Renshaw 45, A. Agar 41 not out; Shakib Al Hasan 5-68, Mehedi Hasan 3-62)

Bangladesh 2nd innings: 221 (Tamim Iqbal 78, Mushfiqur Rahim 41; N. Lyon 6-82)

 Australia 2nd innings (overnight 109-2):

D. Warner lbw b Shakib112

M. Renshaw lbw b Mehedi5

U. Khawaja c Taijul b Shakib1

S. Smith c Rahim b Shakib37

P. Handscomb c Sarkar b Taijul15

G. Maxwell b Shakib14

M. Wade lbw b Shakib4

A. Agar c and b Taijul2

P. Cummins not out33

N. Lyon c Sarkar b Mehedi12

J. Hazlewood lbw b Taijul0

Extras (lb2, b7)9

Total (all out; 70.5 overs)244

 Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Renshaw), 2-28 (Khawaja), 3-158 (Warner), 4-171 (Smith), 5-187 (Handscomb), 6-192 (Wade), 7-195 (Agar), 8-199 (Maxwell), 9-228 (Lyon), 10-244 (Hazlewood)

Bowling: Mehedi 19-3-80-2, Nasir 3-2-2-0, Shakib 28-7-85-5, Taijul 19.5-2-60-3, Mustafizur 1-0-8-0 Result: Bangladesh won by 20 runs Toss: Bangladesh Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Nigel Llong (ENG) TV Umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

A Sri Lankan giving dignified burials to unclaimed bodies for five decades

After their death, most people are memorialized at a service, surrounded by g

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter