Sat, 25 Mar 2023 Today's Paper

Sajith, Karu in special election committee

30 July 2013 06:13 pm - 8     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Although Hambantota District MP Sajith Premadasa and Gampaha District MP Karu Jayasuriya were omitted from the nomination board, the United National Party (UNP) had appointed them to a special committee set up to handle the party’s campaign for the provincial council elections.

The committee members as announced by UNP General Secretary Tissa Attanayake comprise Party Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, Assistant Leader Joseph Michael Perera, Chairman Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, National Organizer Daya Gamage, MPs. John Amaratunga, D. M. Swaminathan, Lakshman Kiriella, Kabir Hashim, Ravi Karunanayake, Wijayakala Maheshwaran R. Yogarajan, Niroshan Perera and Akila Viraj Kariyawasam.

Daily mirror learns that discussions are being held with Mr. Premasasa and Mr. Jayasuriya to obtain their support for the party’s campaign.

In addition to the national committee, three provincial committees have also been appointed. The election activities in the Central Province will be headed by MP Lakshman Kiriella, the North-Western Province by Joseph Michael Perera and the Northern Province by Ravi Karunanayake and D.M. Swaminathan.

The UNP has appointed group leaders with former MP Lucky Jayawardne heading the Kandy list, Ranjith Aluvihara the Matale list and Nuwaraeliya by K. Priyasasa. Shamal Senerath will lead the Kurunegala list and Shantha Abeysinghe will head the Puttalam District list. K. Maheshwaran will head the Jaffna list; Dinesh Ravichandrarajah will head the Mullaitivu list, while W. Maheshwaran will head the Kilinochchi list. However the Mannar district leader was to be appointed later in the day. (Yohan Perera)

  Comments - 8

  • suneth Tuesday, 30 July 2013 06:30 PM

    I lost interest about this party.

    Sha Wednesday, 31 July 2013 12:00 AM

    Irrespective of who sits in committees, this time the UNP is going via DM Android App

    Sha Wednesday, 31 July 2013 12:00 AM

    Irrespective of who sits in these committees, this time the UNP is going to record a historic victory neve seen before. It seems that the intelligent decision of the wise UNP membership to retain Ranil as leader is going pay off. More historic victories will follow in the next round of elections. This historic nature of victories will soon book a place for the party in the national museum! via DM Android App

    chandi malli Wednesday, 31 July 2013 05:12 AM

    This great party again needs a great leader....

    surain lal Wednesday, 31 July 2013 07:45 AM

    trying to paint the wall. what is the use after damage done

    Sim Wednesday, 31 July 2013 08:24 AM

    No victory for UNP as long as Ranil W is the leader.

    sando Wednesday, 31 July 2013 08:46 AM

    Suppuwaa and compnay

    Kalu Banda Wednesday, 31 July 2013 11:00 AM

    Is there any one with public appeal in this RW committee?
    Go Ranil GO, Please GO

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Import of South Indian eggs: Sri Lanka walks on Indian eggshells

With the increase in egg prices the government decided to import eggs to regu

Wokeism: Is it destructive, or are you afraid of change? A response

In order to critically discuss a movement, we must first understand its etymo

Defeat in Ananthapuram Battle denoted the LTTE’s end

Many battles were fought during the long war between the Sri Lankan armed for

Wokeism: A Weapon of Mass Destruction?

When can one say they’ve had enough of being in a state of ‘wokeness’ a