Commissioners appointed to investigate into missing persons

President Mahinda Rajapaksa has appointed three members to the Commission tasked with investigating cases of persons who went missing from the Northern and Eastern Provinces during the war, Presidential Spokesman and International Media Unit said today.

They are Mr. Maxwell Parakrama Paranagama (Chairman) Ms. Dimingu Badathuruge Priyanthi Suranjana Vidyaratne and Mr. Mano Ramanathan.

The Commission has been given the authority to conduct inquiries and investigations necessary, and submit a report to the President within six months.

President Rajapaksa has instructed the Commission to identify the person(s) responsible in cases where abductions or disappearances are found to have taken place and to take legal action against those person(s).

  Comments - 33

You May Also Like