Mon, 29 Nov 2021 Today's Paper

Post-no-faith motion: SLFP in a quandary

10 April 2018 09:47 pm - 8     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has virtually split into two factions over the question of whether it should remain in the government in the aftermath of the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Wickremesinghe.

The sixteen SLFP ministers, deputy and state ministers who voted for the motion insisted, at Monday's SLFP Central Committee meeting, that they be allowed to quit the unity government with the United National Party (UNP).

Minister Anura Priyadarshana Yapa was the first to air his views on this matter and said the party should sever links with the government. He was followed by Minister S.B. Dissanayake and Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara who also endorsed these views.

However, according to reports the 25 SLFP ministers, deputy and state ministers who were absent during the vote on the no-confidence motion, were keen to remain in the government resulting in the SLFP being unable to take a final decision on the matter.

The CC will meet again tomorrow for further discussions. (Kelum Bandara)

  Comments - 8

  • Abu Umar Wednesday, 11 April 2018 08:32 AM

    The 16 rebels are trying to hijack SLFP. They shouldn't allowed to have their way always. If they defected from the collective decision, let them leave the government. The others can remain.

    Jude Wednesday, 11 April 2018 08:35 AM

    Hey Anura Yapa, SB and Dayasiri have made enough money for few generations!!! However, other members still to make the big bucks, therefore, they still want to be part of the unity government!!?? Yeah, they want to be mega-rich before they sit with the billionaires club AKA JO !!!

    Massdeen Wednesday, 11 April 2018 08:39 AM

    Who ever voted fr NCM against Premier can resign n leave the Govt. the rest can remain and continue with the unity Govt, there are 25 of them , no need them to sacrifice them for sake of sixteen

    Lord Wolfstein Wednesday, 11 April 2018 11:02 AM

    If a minister wants to resign, it does not need a CC decision. The resignation of the 16 ministers is a matter of honor. But the word HONOR is a foreign word among politicians anyway.

    Samson Wednesday, 11 April 2018 11:39 AM

    There is no big problem. Those who had no confidence in the PM must quit ASAP and those who abstained must be a part of the unity government.

    Ad Wednesday, 11 April 2018 02:03 PM

    Their minds are not united to built, but to rob. They will segregate with party with such ideology.

    fareed Wednesday, 11 April 2018 02:12 PM

    Those who voted for the NCM should get out he government because they have no moral right to be there the rest of the SLFP who abstain should remain in the government and build their party which is SLFP. The 16 who voted for NCM are traitors.

    Pala Saturday, 14 April 2018 12:17 PM

    Any fair minded member never vote against NCM,reason it's on PM's direct invo!ment in central bank scam,there decision is right but most of them are not popular, but as a result of this decision they will grab popular votes

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter

Bittersweet memories of a ‘City that never slept’

At the heart of Eastern Province lies a now abandoned ghost town punctuated w