Several changes as Sri Lanka announce 22-man Squad for Bangla ODIs

19 July 2019 08:34 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The national cricket selectors axed allrounders Milinda Siriwardana and Jeevan Mendis and veteran seamer Suranga Lakmal and legs[inner Jeffrey Vandersay for the three match ODI series against Bangladesh but recalled Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, and Lakshan Sandakan—just few weeks after they were omitted from the World Cup squad.

Siriwardana, Mendis, Vandersay and Lakmal failed to make any impression at the World Cup and thus their omission comes as no surprise.  The notable absentee is however Dinesh Chandimal—a former national skipper who has failed to secure a place in a widely extended 22-man squad.

Nuwan Pradeep, whose World Cup campaign was cut short due to an onset of chickenpox, makes a comeback.

Sri Lanka will host Bangladesh for three ODIs between 23rd July to 31st July.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanidu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Thissara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lahiru Madushanka



  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Mass sterilization narrative taking ironic turns

Contradictory developments, difficulties in proving charges, glaring conflict

Global waste trade Is Sri Lanka the newest waste dumping ground

When it comes to handling waste, Sri Lanka stands at a primitive level. Or so

Coping with yet Another Dengue Outbreak !

After a particularly hot and humid May this year, many Sri Lankans would have