Daily Mirror - Print Edition

Joes have edge over resurgent Wesley

14 Jun 2019 - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}      

Action from last week’s match between Wesley and Isipathana



By M. Shamil Amit
An exciting contest is on the cards when the high-riding St. Joseph’s College take on Wesley College in their Under-19 Inter-Schools League Rugby Tournament second-round fixture at Longden Place today. The kick-off is at 4.00 p.m.
The Josephians, led by burly number eight Tharindu de Alwis, is the only unbeaten side so far in the tournament.
They defeated Science College, Mount Lavinia, St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota, Zahira College, Trinity College and Isipathana College in the first-round before brushing aside the challenge of S. Thomas’ College in their second-round encounter last week.
The Wesleyites led by Murshid Zubair, began their campaign on a low note and despite having mixed fortunes in the first-round they managed to secure a place in the second-round.
Wesley began the first-round while losing to the traditional rivals Kingswood College but came back to beat Maliyadeva College in the next outing.  They also lost to Royal College and St. Peter’s College but bounced back to record a well deserved win against the more fancied S. Thomas’ College.
Wesley continued with their good form and turned tables once again when they outfoxed the more fancied Isipathana College in their first outing of the second-round.
The Josephians have in their ranks players of the calibre of Skipper Tharindu, Theeraka Santhush, Tharindu Maduranga, Rashane Gunawardena, Sudaraka Devapriya and Cheika Jayawardena.
The Wesleyites will be banking on Kavindana Perera, Srithyesh Thiyagarajah, Dexter Goonetileke, Fineth Dinuja, Sahan Hansajam, Eranda Harshana, Tharindu Walpitage, Samuel Ogbebor and Akinda Gammanpila who made a promising debut in last week’s game against Isipathana. 
The squads:
St. Joseph’s: Tharindu de Alwis (Captain), Theeraka Santhush, Gershon Kandiah, Thevindu Dilshan, Cheika Jayawardena, Shehan Kelaniyagoda, Reshmika Sandun, Nehan Perera, Rashane Gunawardena, Santush Algama, Teran Karunanayake, Imesh Dissanayake, Tharindu Maduranga, Sudaraka Devapriya, Aaron Perera, Shevon Gregory, Hasitha Wijeskera.
Wesley: Mursheed Zubair (Captain), Tharindu Samarakoon, Srithyesh Thiyagarajah, Dineth Dinuja, Raveen Fernando, Akinda Gammanpila, Dexter Goonetileke, Samuel Ogbebor, Jenosha Mendis, Sahan Hansaja, Tharindu Walpitage, Shaveen Jayawardena, Kavindana Perera, Eranda Harshana, Vishwa Welagedera, Hafiz Thabeeth, Theekshana Vithanage, Tharusha Jayaweera, Nisal Perera, Jeesa Wijegunawardena, Shannon Gunasekera, Ruchith Hapugalla, Nimshan Lawrence.


Cricketers congratulate President

19 Nov 2019 20 minute ago

Kamal Gunaratne Defence Secretary

19 Nov 2019 4 hours ago

President assumes duties

19 Nov 2019 4 hours ago