Daily Mirror - Print Edition

SLPP-SLFP to contest from ‘Sri Lanka Nidhahas Podujana Sandhanaya’

18 Feb 2020 - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}      

  • Leader - Mahinda, Chairman - Maithripala, Secretary - Basil

By Lahiru Pothmulla 

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) yesterday requested the Elections Commission (EC) to register their new alliance ‘Sri Lanka Nidhahas Podujana Sandhanaya’ to contest the upcoming elections under the lotus bud (Pohottuwa) symbol.   

 SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam said they named Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa as leader, former President Maithripala Sirisena as Chairman and Basil Rajapaksa as General Secretary of the new alliance.   

“Mahajana Eksath Peramuna (MEP) leader Dinesh Gunawardane has been named as Deputy Chairman of the new alliance in which Dayasiri Jayasekara and Wimal Weerawansa are National Organisers. The other office bearers are Deputy Secretary Mahinda Amaraweera, Assistant Secretary Udaya Gammanpila and Vice Chairmen Professor Tissa Vitharana, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and D.E.W. Gunasekara. The SLPP-SLFP alliance was destined for victory unlike the UNP led alliance,” he said.   
Speaking to the media, SLFP General Secretary and State Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara said nine other parties were included in the alliance. Responding to questions, he said the majority party in the alliance would be SLPP as it signed first and then followed by SLFP, MEP and others.    



The majority party in the alliance will be SLPP as it signed first and then followed by SLFP, MEP and others