Daily Mirror - Print Edition

D. A. Rajapaksa Museum case ; Gota petitions against HC Trial-at-Bar: SC refuses to grant leave to appeal

12 Sep 2019 - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}      

By S.S. Selvanayagam 

By a majority decision, the 5-judge Bench of the Supreme Court yesterday (11) refused to grant Leave to Appeal with the Petition filed by former Defence Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa, challenging the Trial-at-Bar order dated January 11, 2019 in the D. A. Rajapaksa Museum case.



  • Attorney General had filed indictments against seven accused
  • Permanent HC Trial-at-Bar decided to overrule preliminary objections raised by Mr. Rajapaksa



 The Bench comprised Justices Sisira J. de Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardane, Prasanna S. Jayawardena, Vijith Malalgoda, and L.T.B. Dehideniya.   

On February 11, the Permanent High Court-at-Bar decided to overrule preliminary objections raised by Mr. Rajapaksa and six others in connection with the D.A. Rajapaksa Museum case citing that the Permanent High Court-at-Bar has jurisdiction to hear this case.   The Attorney General had filed indictments against seven accused, former Defence Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa, members of the director board of Land Reclamation and Development Corporation (LRDC) Chairman Prasad Harshan de Silva, Bhadra Udulawathi Kamaladasa, Sudammika Kheminda Attigala, Saman Kumara Abraham Galappatti, Devage Mahinda Saliya and Srimathi Mallika Kumari Senadheera under seven counts for allegedly misappropriating LRDC funds of Rs.33.9 million.   

Romesh de Silva, PC with Sugath Caldera instructed by Sanath Wijewardane appeared for Mr. Rajapaksa, while   
Additional Solicitor General Priyantha Nawanna with State Counsel Udara Karunaratne appeared for the AG.