Next year’s Public and Bank Holidays

12 June 2019 03:12 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

A A A

Friday's Extraordinary Gazette notification contains the list of the Public and Bank Holidays for 2020 as announced by the government, Internal, Home Affairs and Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Wajira Abewardena said. 

The Public and Bank Holidays are as follows:

January 10 - Friday - Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day

January 15 - Wednesday - Tamil Thai Pongal Day

February 4 -Tuesday - National Day

February 8 -Saturday - Nawam Full Moon Poya Day

February 21 - Friday - Mahasivarathri Day

March 09 - Monday - Medin Full Moon Poya Day

April 7 - Tuesday - Bak Full Moon Poya Day

April 10 - Friday - Good Friday

April 12 - Sunday - Day prior to the Sinhala & Tamil New Year's Day

April 13 - Monday - Sinhala and Tamil New Year's Day

May 1 - Friday - May Day

May 7 - Thursday - Vesak Full Moon Poya Day

May 8 - Friday - Day following Vesak Full Moon Poya Day

May 25 - Monday - Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramazan Festival Day)

June 5 - Friday - Poson Full Moon Poya Day

July 4 - Saturday - Esala Full Moon Poya Day

August 1 - Saturday - Id-Ul-Alha (Hadji Festival Day)

August 3 - Monday - Nikini Full Moon Poya Day

September 1 - Tuesday- Binara Full Moon Poya Day

October 1 - Thursday - Adhi-Vap Full Moon Poya Day

October 30 - Friday - Milad-Un-Nabi (Holy Prophet’s Birthday)

October 30 - Friday - Vap Full Moon Poya Day

November 14 - Saturday - Deepavali Festival Day

November 29 - Sunday -Ill Full Moon Poya Day

December 25 - Friday - Christmas Day

December 29 - Tuesday - Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day (Chaturanga Samarawickrama)

  Comments - 0


Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment


Who is the best presidential candidate for the economy?

Gotabaya Rajapaksa is the clear front runner in the presidential race; even b

Virtual clothing battles the effects of “fast fashion’’

The term “fast fashion” encapsulates a type of clothing that is moved fro

‘Flygskam’ Is it possible to be an eco-friendly flyer?

Greta Thunberg, the 16-year-old climate activist and Olympic athlete Björn F

Carbon and Energy Footprint of a Garment Manufactured in Sri Lanka

The apparel industry in Sri Lanka is –historically- a recent addition to th