Eight member PSC headed by Deputy Speaker appointed

23 May 2019 08:27 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today announced the appointment of an eight member Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) headed by Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri, to look into the Easter Sunday bomb attacks.

The other members of the PSC include Ministers Rauff Hakeem, Ravi Karunanayake, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, MPs Kavinda Jayawardene, Ashu Marasinghe, Jayampathi Wickramaratne and M. A. Sumanthiran.

The select committee will look into whether the law enforcement authorities had received intelligence reports relating to the Easter Sunday attacks, whether the relevant authorities took adequate steps to mitigate the attacks, whether there were any irregularities in the state machinery that led to the inability to mitigate or prevent the attacks, whether any other factors contributed to the attacks and what action should be taken to prevent such attacks in the future.

It will also have a mandate to summon any Minister or MP for questioning.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe assured that the committee will come up with a report in two weeks’ time. (Yohan Perera and Ajith Siriwardana)

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Parliamentary election After SC verdict, need 70 days to finalise preparations: EC

The Elections Commission (EC) said it would require 70 days to hold the elect

Will sue those who flout social distancing etiquette: DIG

Legal action will be taken against those who fail to maintain social distanci

Rigid mechanism to ensure safety of schoolchildren: Alahapperuma

When schools reopen, a comprehensive and rigid mechanism will be in place to

SLT clarifies situation regarding recent cyber-attack

Sri Lanka Telecom today said that they have detected an attempt of a cyber-at