Champika, Wijeyadasa nominated to CC

9 September 2015 06:44 am - 2     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


President Maithripala Sirisena today nominated Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka for the Constitutional Council (CC) while Minister Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe was nominated by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The Constitutional Council comprises of seven parliamentarians and three representatives of civil organizations. The mandate of the CC is to establish nine independent commissions and to observe them. (Lahiru Pothmulla)

  Comments - 2

  • Unchikun Wednesday, 09 September 2015 12:39 PM

    At last sanity prevails . Two educated people on the CC. How about Modawansa?

    Marie Wednesday, 09 September 2015 12:42 PM

    Very good choice. Hope the rest ( balance 8 ) will be equally suitable

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Mass sterilization narrative taking ironic turns

Contradictory developments, difficulties in proving charges, glaring conflict

Global waste trade Is Sri Lanka the newest waste dumping ground

When it comes to handling waste, Sri Lanka stands at a primitive level. Or so

Coping with yet Another Dengue Outbreak !

After a particularly hot and humid May this year, many Sri Lankans would have