Last Updated : 2019-07-18 10:05:00

Scott Morrison is Australia’s new PM Fifth in last five years

25 August 2018 12:01 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}



Scott Morrison is the new Prime Minister of Australia, the fifth in five years, following a week of bitter factional infighting which saw Malcolm Turnbull overthrown.  

Mr Morrison prevailed in a three-way battle with former Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton and Foreign Minister Julie Bishop.  Ms Bishop was eliminated first after getting the lowest vote, and Mr Morrison then defeated Mr Dutton in the next round by five votes, 45 to 40.  

Government Whip Nola Marino said the deputy position was won by Josh Frydenberg with an 
absolute majority.  

Mr Dutton congratulated Mr Morrison and Mr Frydenberg.  

‘I thank Malcolm Turnbull very much for his service as prime minister of this country and Julie Bishop who’s been an amazing foreign affairs minister and deputy leader of our party,’ 
he said.  

‘My course from here is to provide absolute loyalty to Scott Morrison, to make sure we that we win the election and defeat Bill Shorten and make sure he’s never prime minister.’   

Mr Morrison, a known moderate, takes charge of a severely divided party after a week of ugly infighting.  

His first job will be to try to bring the warring factions together and present a united front to voters ahead of an election due before May 2019.  Mr Morrison also faces the challenge of maintaining the Government’s majority ahead of a crucial by-election in the Sydney seat of Wentworth.
Australia, (Daily Mail), 24 August 2018 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Sri Lanka yet to play to their potential--Rumesh Ratnayake

After England amassed 397 runs against Afghanistan—the highest in the tourn

Dinesh Chandimal- 2018 ODI Captain to 2019 World Cup ‘spectator’

In 2018, Dinesh Chandimal scored 298 runs at 42.52 in One-Day Internationals

Singling out of Rishad Bathiudeen as a political target

The orchestrated political campaign by the Mahinda Rajapaksa-led opposition i

TWISTS AND TURNS in the Dr. Shafi controversy

The sterilization charges against Dr. Seigu Shihabdeen Mohamed Shafi from the