Roshen, Sadeera in Test squad after Mathews ruled out with injury

2017-09-20 18:52:05

Middle-order bat Roshen Silva and wicket-keeper at Sadeera Samarawickrama have been included in the 15-man squad to face Pakistan in a two-match Test series starting September 28 in Abu Dhabi.

Former skipper Angelo Mathews is not part of the squad after he had suffered a calf strain during training.However he is expected to be available for selection for the second Test. Back in the team are Kaushal Silva who missed the two home series against Zimbabwe and India and also experienced left handed bat Lahiru Thirimanne and seamer Lahiru Gamage. Thirimanne has been named under-study to Dinesh Chandimal.

Silva, a prolific batsman has been knocking the door for a while after some stellar performances in domestic cricket. He has scored over 6000 runs with 18 centuries and 26 half centuries and comes into the side replacing injured Mathews.

Samarawickrama, 22 was the top run-getter in the 2016/17 SLC Premier Club tournament scoring 1016 runs in 19 innings. Samarawickrama who represents Colts CC has scored three centuries and six-half centuries six fifties. Injured duo of Asela Gunaratne and Kusal Janith Perera have been left out of the tour. Also missing from the squad are Malinda Pushpakumara and Lahiru Kumara who were part of the recent Test series against India. Limited overs skipper Upul Tharanga was not considered for selection after he requested for six months break from the longer version to concentrate on limited over crickets.

Nuwan Pradeep will spearhead the seam attack which also includes Suranga Lakmal, left-arm seamer Vishwa Fernando, and Lahiru Gamage - who is uncapped in Tests. Pardeep and Lakmal bowled creditably during their last tour to UAE in 2013/2014 series. Sri Lanka drew the last series 1 all.

Left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan has joined Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera in the three-man spin attack.

Sri Lanka and Pakistan will play the first Test in Abu Dhabi from September 28, before moving to Dubai for a pink-ball game.

Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Gamage

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty