Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

National Youth Games begins tomorrow in Matara

24 October 2018 11:09 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

The 30th National Youth Games, conducted by the National Youth Services Council (NYSC) will be worked off from October 25 to October 28 at the Kotawila Sports Complex in Matara.

The opening ceremony would take place tomorrow (25) under the patronage of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Over 3,000 athletes representing all Districts will take part in this meet under two age categories, Under-20 and Over-20.

The Games will include 16 athletic events (Men’s and Women’s) as well as team events including volleyball, netball, kabaddi and football.

The Best Athlete in the two categories (Men’s and Women’s) will be presented with motorcycles.

The Games Torch will be lit by Malinda Fernando (Galle District), Amasha de Silva (Kandy District), Janaka Wimalasiri (Kandy District) and Vidusha Lakshani (Gampaha District).

Fernando and Amasha were last year’ Under-20 Best Men’s and Best Women’s athletes while Wimalasiri and Lakshani were the Best Men’s and Women’s athletes in the Over-20 category.

Last year, the overall champions were Gampaha District while the runners-up were Kurunegala District. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Singling out of Rishad Bathiudeen as a political target

The orchestrated political campaign by the Mahinda Rajapaksa-led opposition i

TWISTS AND TURNS in the Dr. Shafi controversy

The sterilization charges against Dr. Seigu Shihabdeen Mohamed Shafi from the

Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) An in-depth look at ISIS

As the people and Government of Sri Lanka reel with shock and grief in the wa

Mahela declines to be part of Sri Lankan team Management at cricket World Cup

Weeks after guiding Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title--his second in t