Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Members appointed for Constitutional Council

11 October 2018 01:36 pm - 8     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Parliament today approved three representatives of the Civic Society to the Constitutional Council, Parliament sources said.

With this move the appointment of the new Constitutional Council becomes complete.

The names of three civil society members, who were appointed to the council as per the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, are Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala, Ahmad Yusuf and Naganathan Sellvakumaran.


  Comments - 8

  • ggggggg Thursday, 11 October 2018 02:44 PM

    Constitutional council is a fake. Bcoz almost all the members are from same clan.

    Mandy Thursday, 11 October 2018 07:56 PM

    Yes CC has 7 politikkas and 3 civilians. It is a useless set up.

    Siyarata Thursday, 11 October 2018 04:34 PM

    No representation for the Sinhalese Buddhists. Reverse Discrimination at it's Best. ! NGO s are silent.

    suren Thursday, 11 October 2018 06:01 PM

    what about Jayantha

    ds Thursday, 11 October 2018 06:06 PM

    Jayantha Dhanapala ????? Ha haha NGO!!!

    Gamaya Thursday, 11 October 2018 09:16 PM

    When did Mr Dhanapala become Dr Dhanapala? Or is that he too stoops low to use the prefix having been awarded a Honorary Doctorate? Does this not equate him with Dr Mervyn de Silva? SHAME!!!!

    Helaya Friday, 12 October 2018 07:13 PM

    I have been know Mr.Jayantha Dhanapala for so many years and he never use the title "Doctor". Although public can call a doctorate degree holder by "Doctor'. Shame on you Gamaya for misleading fellow citizens

    najim Friday, 12 October 2018 05:05 PM

    all are appointed as political supporters of ministers not from civil societies

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Wahhabism and radicalization of local Muslims Fix it For Good

Intelligence-driven kinetic means can only do so much. The acid test would be

Rs.190 Million worth of Priorities ?

‘A supplementary budget of 190 million rupees for two bulletproof vehicles

Refugees become refugees again in Sri Lanka

There was a collective anguish over helplessness and isolation inside the gar

Anti – Terrorist Action Must Not Become a Witch Hunt Against Sri Lankan Muslims

Mohammed Zahran the founder-leader of the National Thawheed Jama’at and sus