Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Meet records galore on second day

21 September 2018 07:24 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


A total of 14 records tumbled on the second day of the 88th Sir John Tarbat Senior Athletics Championships continued at the Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The best effort undoubtedly came from Paramai Wasanthi of Kuliyapitiya Central as she had the unique honour of establishing two new meet records. 

She first won the Girls’ Under-18 Steeplechase event with a new mark of 6:37.9s while erasing the previous record of 7:16.40s set by K. M. J. M. Kanagaratna of Walala Rathnayake CC in 2017. 

Later, she powered her way to win the Girls’ Under-18, 3,000m event with a record breaking performance of 9:58.3s.

She had the satisfaction of improving on the previous record of 10:18.35s held by R. A. C. Jayamini of Sumana Balika MV Ratnapura in 2009.     

Meanwhile, St. Peter’s College Bambalapitiya and Walala A. Rathnayake CC took an early lead in the Boys’ and Girls’ Overall Championship respectively. 

The Peterites ended the day with a tally of 106 points while Rathnayake CC finished with a total of 124 points. 

New meet records on day 2 

1, P. M. P. L. Kodikara (Maliyadeva) 400m, Under-20 - 52.69s. 

2, S. T. Amarasinghe (Royal Colombo) High Jump, Under-18 - 2.10m.  

3, Royal College, 4X100m, Under-18 - 41.88s.

4, St. Benedict’s, 4X100m, Under-20, 41.79s.
5, Rumesh Tharanga (St. Peter’s Bambalapitiya) Discus Throw, Under-16, 61.67m. 

6, Ramesh Malshan (Maris Stella) 200m, Under-18 - 21.92s.
7, Lahiru Gurusinghe (Senanayake NC, Madampe) 800m, Under-16 - 1:59.02s.
1, Paramai Wasanthi (Kuliyapitiya Central) 2,000m Steeplechase, Under-18 - 6:37.9s. 

2, H. A. V. L. K. Hapuarachchi (Sumana Balika Vidyalaya) Javelin Throw, Under-16 - 37.91m.
3, Shashikala Deshani (Makandura Central) 
Under-20, 3,000m - 27:58.35s 

4, Paramai Wasanthi (Kuliyapitiya Central) 3,000m, Under-18 - 9:58.3s.

5, Ovini Chandrasekara (Bishop’s College) Shot Put, Under-16, 13.15m.

6, K. G. D. M. S. Kumarasinghe (Walala Rathnayaka CC) 800m, Under-20 - 2:12.67s.

7, Gamini National School, Benthota, 4x100m, Under-18 - 49.74s.

Parami Wasanthi, winner of the 3000m, in action

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Singling out of Rishad Bathiudeen as a political target

The orchestrated political campaign by the Mahinda Rajapaksa-led opposition i

TWISTS AND TURNS in the Dr. Shafi controversy

The sterilization charges against Dr. Seigu Shihabdeen Mohamed Shafi from the

Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) An in-depth look at ISIS

As the people and Government of Sri Lanka reel with shock and grief in the wa

Mahela declines to be part of Sri Lankan team Management at cricket World Cup

Weeks after guiding Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title--his second in t