Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

India beat Sri Lanka to win U-19 Asia Cup title

7 October 2018 09:02 pm - 1     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


India defeated Sri Lanka by a mammoth 144 runs to clinch the Under-19 Asia Cup 2018 title in Dhaka on Sunday. After a collective performance with the bat, left-arm spinner Harsh Tyagi took six for 38 as Sri Lanka were bundled out for 160 in 38.4 overs.

India captain P Simran Singh elected to bat after winning the toss and the batsmen didn't disappoint as India amassed a total of 304 for three in 50 overs. Openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Anuj Rawat strung together a 121-run partnership for the first wicket. Both the batsmen notched up half-centuries, laying the foundation for a big total.

Jaiswal scored a brilliant 85 that included eight boundaries and a six. On the other hand, Anuj Rawat scored 57 off 79 balls before getting trapped in front of the stumps by Dulith Wellalage.

Post the departure of the openers, skipper P Simran Singh took matters into his own hands and stitched a brilliant 110-run partnership with Ayush Badoni.

P Simran Singh played brilliantly against the Sri Lankan bowlers, smacking them all over the park. During his unbeaten 65-run knock, the Indian skipper struck three boundaries and four sixes.

Ayush Badoni played a quickfire 52-run knock off 28 balls helping the team cross the 300-run mark.

Chasing a target of 305, Sri Lanka got off to a poor start. The team lost Nipun Dananjaya (12) early as pacer Mohit Jangra dismissed the Sri Lankan skipper in the seventh over. 

Opener Nishan Madushka (49) and Pasindu Sooriyabandara (31) tried to steady the Sri Lankan run chase but spin duo Harsh Tyagi and Siddharth Desai ran through the Sri Lankan batting order.

The batsmen seemed clueless against the Indian spinner as Tyagi claimed six wickets for 38 runs. Desai too played his part from the other end, bagging two wickets as the islanders were bowled out in the 39th over.

 This was India's sixth Under-19 Asia Cup title after winning the tournament earlier in 1989, 2003, 2012, 2014 and 2016.

India Under-19s 304 for 3 (Jaiswal 85, Simran 65*, Rawat 57, Badoni 52*) beat Sri Lanka Under-19s 160 (Madushka 49, Paranavithana 48, Tyagi 6-38)

Pakistan warns India against military action

Pakistan has warned it will retaliate if India takes military action against

Petition filed seeking SC order directing EC to hold PC poll immediately

A petition was filed by the Sathya Gaveshakayo Organisation (Truth Seekers) i

MP Mahinda Rajapaksa: Twice ‘FALSE’ on GDP growth

In the nine years I was in power, I increased the GDP per capita of this coun

Imported milk powder not healthy, Prez reiterates

President Maitripala Sirisena said that consumption of some imported milk pow

  Comments - 1

  • Rambo Monday, 08 October 2018 08:50 AM

    Played like the champions you are India.... well done!!!

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment