Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Havies out to maintain unbeaten run

23 November 2018 10:32 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Harsha Amarasinghe

Havelock Sports Club will look to maintain their unbeaten run in the Dialog Inter-Club League Rugby Tournament when they face Navy Sports Club at Havelock Park under lights today (23).

The Havies are in fine form having secured two crucial victories in the first two weeks of the tournament.

They had a slightly easier game against Army SC, but they played their hearts out against the CH and FC last week to seal the deal in the last minute.

Havelock SC, led by Niroshan Fernando as many expected prior to the season rely on their experienced pack which includes quality players such as Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Liston Flatny, Sharo Fernando and Lasindu Ishan.

They also have got an extraordinary player in the shape of Dinuk Amarasinghe but the Sri Lankan centre is yet to find his top form.

The former St. Anthony’s College Captain is still to score this season, but could turn things around in this crucial league clash.

Fly half Sandesh Jayawickrama and scrum half Mithun Hapugoda made a massive difference coming off the bench against the CH and FC.

Jayawickrama in particular would hope for more game time having crossed over to Havelock SC from Police SC.

Navy SC, like the Havies also depend on their forwards, but they have got bit more flare in their backline with players in the calibre of Buddhima Piyarathne and Mohamed Abzal.

However, one man who would be desperate to make an instant impact would be their Skipper Thilina Weerasinghe who had a shocking game against the CR and FC last week which they lost.

Weerasinghe was the highest points’ scorer in the previous season having booted over more penalties and conversions than any other player but he missed out on quite a few points against the CR which eventually cost them the game.

The teams

Havelock SC (probable): Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Asmir Fajudeen, Liston Flatny, Sharo Fernando, Umesh Madushanka, Senal Deela, Shawqat Lahir, Lasindu Ishan, Vimukthy Rahul and Niroshan Fernando (Captain), Chamara Dabare, Dinuk Amarasinghe, Dinushan Ariyapala, Sandun Herath, Riza Mubarak.

Navy SC (probable): Kasun de Silva, Mahesh Madushanka, Charith Silva, Raveen de Silva, Gevin Patrick, Gihan Perera, Adeesha Weeratunga, Radeesha Seneviratne, Richie Dharmapala and Mohamed Abzal, Buddhima Piyaratne, Mushin Faleel, Thanuja Maduranga, Dinusha Fernando, Thilina Weerasinghe (Captain). 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Anti-Muslim attacks question security coordination

Tears in the eyes of the families mourning the loss of Easter Sunday terror v

Wahhabism and radicalization of local Muslims Fix it For Good

Intelligence-driven kinetic means can only do so much. The acid test would be

Rs.190 Million worth of Priorities ?

‘A supplementary budget of 190 million rupees for two bulletproof vehicles

Refugees become refugees again in Sri Lanka

There was a collective anguish over helplessness and isolation inside the gar