Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Godamanna topples seeded Ornaza

30 June 2017 10:30 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

Unseeded Harshana Godamanna cleared his first hurdle of the Sri Lanka F2 Future tennis tournament when he recorded a hard fought win against fourth seeded Fabri Ornaza of Italy in the first round match played at the SLTA clay courts in Greenpath, Colombo yesterday morning.

Godamanna was made to made to work hard for his win in the three set encounter having taken the first set in a grueling contest. But Ornaza fought his way back to win the second set with ease before Godamanna took the third set in another hotly contested affair.

Sharmal Dissanayake was the other Sri Lankan who was successful when he overcame Jordan Correia of Brazil while Yasitha de Silva went down meekly to second seeded Mario Vilella Martinez of Spain.

Meanwhile top seeded Sumit Nagal of India who won the Sri Lanka F1 Futures last week had an easy passage in his first round encounter against his team mate S.D. Prajwal Dev while four other seeded players Carlo Boluda Purkiss (Spain), Sidharth Rawat (India), Alessandro Petrone (Italy) and Alexander Zhurbin (Russia) cruised through with easy wins. The championship will be continued today.

First Round Results:
Singles -
Sumit Nagal (India) beat S.D. Prajwal Dev (India) 2-0 (6/3, 6/0). Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (India) beat Anirudh Chandrasekar (India) 2-0 (6/2, 6/3). Gabriel Petit (France) beat Giovani Samaha (Libya) 2-1 (6/1, 5/7, 7/6(4). Alexander Zhurbin (Russia) beat Peter Goldsteiner (Austria) 2-0 (6/3, 6/3). Carlo Boluda Purkiss (Spain) beat Yurii Dzhavakian (Ukraine) 2-0 (6/1, 3/0rtd). Mikhail Korovin (Russia) beat Nishangan Nadaraja (Sri Lanka) 2-0 (6/1, 6/3). Ranieet Virali Murugesan (India) beat Naoki Takeda (Japan) 2-1 (4/6, 6/1, 3/1rtd). Sidharth Rawat (India) beat Nino Portales (France) 2-0 (6/1, 6/2). Manish Sureshkumar (India) beay Davide Galoppini (Italy) 2-1 (3/6, 6/0, 0/1rtd). Nicholas Bybel (USA) beat Scott Duncan (Great Britain) 2-0 (6/3, 6/1). Harshana Godamanna (Sri Lanka) beat Fabri Ornaza (Italy) 2-1 (7/5, 2/6, 7/5). Alessandro Petrone (Italy) beat Francois Arthur Vibert (France) 2-1 (1/6, 6/2, 4/0rtd). Sharmal Dissanayake (Sri Lanka) beat Jordan Correia (Brazil) 1-0 (6/3, rtd). Mario Vilella Martinez (Spain) beat Yasitha de Silva 2-0 (6/0, 6/2).

Doubles – Chandril Sood/Lakshit Sood (India) beat Yasitha de Silva/Nishangan Nadaraja (Sri Lanka) 2-0 (6/3, 6/4). Anirudh Chandrasekar/ Sidharth Rawat (India) beat Sankha Athukorala/Alex Fairbanks (Sri Lanka) 2-0 (7/6(4), 7/5). Philip Bachmair/Peter Godlsteiner (Austria) beat Anvil Bendre/Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha (India) 2-1 (6/7(3), 6/3, (10-4). Nino Portales (France)/Alexander Zhurbin (Russia) beat Nicholas Bybel (USA)/Giovani Samaha (Libya) 2-0 (6/4, 6/4). Vignesh Peranmallur/Surat Prabodh (India) received walk over

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment