Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Gampaha District emerge overall champions

29 October 2018 01:52 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal reporting from Matara

Gampaha District retained the overall title for the fourth successive year at the 30th National Youth Games which concluded at the Kotawila Stadium in Matara yesterday (28).

Gampaha District dominated the four-day meet and went on to finish on top with a tally of 152 points, well ahead of the runners-up Puttalam District (88 points).

However, the Over-20 Best Athlete Award for Men’s went to Amila Jayasiri from Puttalam District for his fine performance of 7.23 metres in the Long Jump event.

The Over-20 Best Athlete Award for Women’s was won by Nadeesha Ramanayake of Hambantota District for her performance of 54.452 seconds in the 400m final.

Meanwhile, Aruna Darshana of Matale District and Himasha Cooray of Urban Youth were selected as the Best Athlete in the Under-20 Boys’ and Girls’ Championship respectively.

Results (finals):

10,000m Boys’ Under-20: 1, Chaminda Kumara (Badulla) 34:57.16s 2. J. A. J. T. Jayakody (Kurunegala) 35:18.42s 3. S. Kinthusan (Vavuniya) 35:20.51s.

5,000m Girls’ Under-20: 1, R. A. L. Maduwanthi (Ratnapura) 19:38.6s 2. K. S. Dilshani (Matara) 19:46.9s 3. G. V. A. A. S. Sithara (Kandy) 19:48.2s.

Discus Throw Boys’ Under-20: 1, W. M. A. M. Malintha (Puttalam) 38.70m 2. Kavindu Hiranya (Gampaha) 34.79m 3. D. M. K. N. Dissanayake (Anuradhapura) 34.71m.

Triple Jump Girls’ Under-20: 1, Himasha Cooray (Urban Youth) 11.95m 2. Rashmi Niroda (Matara) 11.80m 3. Nethmi Megawarna (Hambantota) 11.64m.

100m Women’s Over-20: 1, Sachin Udeshika (Gampha) 12.58s 2, T. A. Muthukumaran (Monaragala) 12.68s 3. W. S. H. Fernando (Puttalam) 13.28s.

100m Boys’ Under-20: 1, Nimesh Chathuranga (Gampha) 11.41s 2, Suraj Kavinda (Kalutara) 11.45s 3. Tharushka Bhasitha (Hambantota) 11.66s.

100m Men’s Over-20: 1, K. S. L. Wickramasinghe (Hambantota) 11.24s 2, Sachith Perera (Colombo) 11.59s 3, M. P. H. L. Minimuthu (Kegalle) 11.68s.

100m Girls’ Under-20: 1 F. S. Yamik (Kandy) 12.57s 2. Sadeepa Henderson (Gampha) 12.78s 3. K. K. N. Nethmini (Colombo) 13.74s.

Triple Jump Under-20 Boys’: 1. B. G. M. H. Jayatissa (Colombo) 16.62m 2. Sadun Krishantha (Gampha) 14.29m 3. G. A. K. Jayabandara (Kurunegala) 13.93.


High Jump Boys’ - Tharindu Dasun (Galle) 2.12m.

200m Boys’ - S. P. A. Darshana (Matale) 21.33s. 800m Boys’ - R. P. I. Lakshan (Puttalam) 1:55.20s.

400m Boys’ - P. M. P. L. Kodikara (Kurunegala) 48.58s.

Over-20 Women’s Long Jump - A. Pulwansa (Colombo) 5.96m.

Under-20 Girls’ 100m Hurdles - N. G. P. R. Gunathilaka (Kegalle) 15.24s.


Team Events:

Netball (Women’s)

Champions: Kalutara.

Runners-up: Kandy.

Netball (Men’s)

Champions: Kegalle.

Runners-up: Monaragala.

Kabaddi (Women’s)

Champions: Batticaloa.

Runners-up: Galle.

Kabaddi (Men’s)

Champions: Kegalle.

Runners-up: Anuradhapura.

Volleyball (Men’s)

Champions: Kegalle.

Runners-up: Gampha.

Volleyball (Women’s)

Champions: Kegalle.

Runners-up: Hambantota.

Tug-of-War (Men’s)

Champions: Colombo.

Runners-up: Anuradhapura.

Tug-of-War (Women’s)

Champions: Gampha.


Best Performances:

Under-20 Best Athlete Girls’: Himasha Cooray (Urban Youth).

Under-20 Best Athlete Boys’: Aruna Darshana (Matale).

Over-20 Best Athlete Women’s: Nadeesha Ramanayake (Hambantota).

Over-20 Best Athlete Men’s: Amila Jayasiri (Puttalam).

Overall Championship:

Winner: Gampaha District

Runners-up: Puttalam District 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Singling out of Rishad Bathiudeen as a political target

The orchestrated political campaign by the Mahinda Rajapaksa-led opposition i

TWISTS AND TURNS in the Dr. Shafi controversy

The sterilization charges against Dr. Seigu Shihabdeen Mohamed Shafi from the

Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) An in-depth look at ISIS

As the people and Government of Sri Lanka reel with shock and grief in the wa

Mahela declines to be part of Sri Lankan team Management at cricket World Cup

Weeks after guiding Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title--his second in t