Eric Upashantha replaces Sajith Fernando in new selection committee

2018-06-03 01:40:48

Mirrorcricket- Graeme La Brooy has been retained as chief cricket selector for another term along with Jeryl Wouterz, Gamini Wickremasinghe, Chandika Hathurusinghe (on tour selector) and Eric Upashantha.

They have been appointed for a period of one year.

Upashantha who was a member of the previous selection committee headed by Sanath Jayasuriya replaces former Sri Lanka first-class cricketer Sajith Fernando. La Brooy led committee took office after Jayasuriya led committee resigned en masse during a tour whitewash by India who won all three Tests, five one-dayers and one Twenty20 international in Sri Lanka.

Labrooy, 53, played nine Tests and 44 ODIs from 1986-92. 

NOTE: We inadvertently rreported that Ranjith Madurasingha has been appointed to the selection committee when the position went to Eric Upashantha. We regret the error.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty