Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Colombo ‘Blues’ name 28-member Squad

28 September 2018 03:23 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

A 28-member Provincial Colombo ‘Blues’ Rugby Squad has been selected in preparation for the annual encounter against the Kandy ‘Reds’ scheduled to be played at the Racecourse Grounds on October 6.

This will be the fourth clash between the two teams with Colombo ‘Blues’ coming out victorious in all three occasions.

Last year they won the match under the leadership of Nikhila Gunadeera.

The Colombo ‘Blues’ Squad comprises players from eight schools with Royal College having nine followed by St. Peter’s College (8), St Joseph’s College (6), S. Thomas’ College (3), Wesley College (2) and one each from Isipathana College, Zahira College and Science College.

This encounter will also be a trial to select the National Squad for the Asian Under-19 Rugby Championship which will be held from December 12 to 18 in Chinese Taipei.

Hong Kong, Sri Lanka, South Korea and Chinese Taipei will compete in this tournament.

The Colombo ‘Blues’ Team will be under the guidance of Dushanth Lewke who coached the champion Royal outfit this season.

The Colombo ‘Blues’ Rugby Squad:

Maleesha Madumewan, Fadhil Adhan, Ifham Fareed, Himantha Hirushan, Nikhil de Silva, Sabith Feroz, Risith Fernando, Mubeen Faleel, Janidu Dilshan (Royal), Javidu Fernando, Julian Charles, Abdullah Faiz, Lakshan Uduwana, Kenneth Wimaladasa, Rukshan Madusanka, Jason Karunaratne, Shenol Shenuka (St. Peter’s), Tharindu de Alwis, Shevon Gregory, Shehan Eranda, Gemunu Chethiya, Shan Akila, Kavinda Keshan (St. Joseph’s), Christian de Lile, Adeesha Handunpathirana, Harith Senanayake (S. Thomas’), Daiyan Sabar, Tharindu Hasith (Wesley), Ravindu Anjula (Isipathana), Tuan Zaid (Zahira) and Shamilka Milinda (Science College). 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment