State and deputy ministers sworn-in

27 November 2019 11:01 am - 19     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Thirty-five state ministers and three deputy ministers were sworn in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat this morning.

State Ministers

Chamal Rajapaksa State Minister of Defense
Vasudeva Nanayakkara State Minister of Water Supply Facilities
Gamini Lokuge State Minister of Urban Development
Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene State Minister of Industries and Rural Development
S. B. Dissanayake State Minister of Land and Land Development
John Senewirathna State Minister of Economic Policy Development
Mahinda Samarasinghe State Minister of Public Administration and Home Affairs
C.B. Ratnayake State Minister of Railway Services
Lakshman Yapa Abeywardene State Minister of Information Communications Technology
Susantha Punchinilame State Minister of Small and Medium Scale Enterprises Development
Anura Priyadarshana Yapa State Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Welfare
Susil Premajayantha  State Minister of International Cooperation
Piyankara Jayaratne State Minister of Indigenous Medicine Services
Ranjith Siyambalapitiya State Minister of Education Services
Mahindananda Aluthgamage State Minister of Power
Duminda Dissanayake State Minister of Youth Affairs
Rohitha Abeygunawardana State Minister of Energy
Dayasiri Jayasekera State Minister of Industries
Lasantha Alagiyawanna State Minister of Public Management and Accounts
Keheliya Rambukwella State Minister of Investment Promotions
Arundika Fernando State Minister of Tourism Promotions
Thilanga Sumathipala State Minister of Technology and Innovations
Mohan Priyadarshana De Silva State Minister of Human Rights and Legal Reforms
Vijitha Berugoda State Minister of Women and Child Affairs
Roshan Ranasinghe State Minister of Mahaweli Development
 Janaka Wakkumbura State Minister of Export Agriculture
Vidura Wickremanayake State Minister of Agriculture
Shehan Semasinghe State Minister of Development Banking and Loan Schemes
Kanaka Herath State Minister of Port Development
Dilum Amunugama State Minister of Transport Services Management
Lohan Ratwatte State Minister of Highways Development
Wimalaweera Dissanayake State Minister of Wildlife Development
Jayantha Samaraweera State Minister of Environment
Sanath Nishantha State Minister of Fisheries and Inland Fishing
Tharaka Balasooriya State Minister of Social Protection


Deputy Ministers
Nimal Lanza Deputy Minister for Estate Development
Kanchana Wijesekara Deputy Minister for Fisheries
Indika Anuruddha Deputy Minister for State Administration, Provincial & Local Council

  Comments - 19

  • Anmanpan Wednesday, 27 November 2019 11:30 AM

    No jumbos in the jumbo list. Our little pole vaulter is missing.

    anura nanayakkara Wednesday, 27 November 2019 11:45 AM

    Same old faces , coming with ease to Gota's cabinet . Public expectations totally dashed by GR/MR govt. Gota will not be able to do anything as he wished I suppose .

    Amare Wednesday, 27 November 2019 11:50 AM

    That is 54 in total.

    GOD Wednesday, 27 November 2019 11:57 AM

    Poor President and PM, they tried so hard but was unable to find anyone in the minorities to capable of handling these tough jobs!

    Daham Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:03 PM

    38 18=54. A total of 54 ministers appointed disregarding the promise made during the elections. Good that the 19th amendment brought by the previous government restricted the number.

    Joe Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:08 PM

    SB’s post is legendary

    decentgent Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:18 PM

    There are legal cases pending against M. Aluthgamage, S,B. Dissanayake and Thilanga Sumathipala. The biggest crook is Wimal Weerawangsa. All these unscrupulous characters should NOT have been considered for ministerial positions. Reconsider and remove them

    Anmanpan Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:19 PM

    Ranil, Daya and Vajira missing from the list.

    Appu Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:46 PM

    Congratulations to the new state ministers

    Dhana Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:46 PM

    Better to add another 12 to achieve a perfect half century. Looks like the New broom is not sweeping well after a week.

    WAC Wednesday, 27 November 2019 12:51 PM

    What is the difference between state minister and deputy minister?

    joe fernando Wednesday, 27 November 2019 03:04 PM

    sad to see no minorities

    joe fernando Wednesday, 27 November 2019 03:04 PM

    sad to see no minorities

    joe fernando Wednesday, 27 November 2019 03:04 PM

    sad to see no minorities

    joe fernando Wednesday, 27 November 2019 03:04 PM

    sad to see no minorities

    ranjit Wednesday, 27 November 2019 03:45 PM

    #decentgent, There was a case depending against but he was elected as president. so what is wrong in giving ministerial post to these crooks

    ANTON Wednesday, 27 November 2019 04:15 PM


    Kamala Wednesday, 27 November 2019 05:08 PM

    Minorities are not there. Thus it shows two states in one country. The world is watching. Don't feel sorry later.

    Puripuri Wednesday, 27 November 2019 05:12 PM

    When will Tamil speaking ministers to the N and E be appointed ???

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Land acquisitions in Hanthana and Knuckles Mountain ranges

Sri Lankans will soon lose their opportunity to boast about the rich biodiver

Wanathawilluwa forest clearance: Whodunit?

Days after the Anawilundawa Ramsar Wetland, situated in Puttalam District, ma

‘I’m scared to see her face’

On August 13, a woman happened to meet a child who was in desperate need of h

Kidneys that whisper death

A flute version of Beethoven’s ‘Für Elise’ was echoing from a distance