Maithri, Keerthi back as governors

5 August 2019 09:55 am - 5     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Three new governors were appointed by President Maithripala Sirisena to Uva, Central and Sothern provinces this morning.

Accordingly, Maithri Gunaratne was sworn in as the Governor of the Uva Province, Keerthi Tennakook Governor of the Central Province and Hemal Gunasekara Governor of the Southern Province.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the official residence of the President.

Keerthi Thennakoon recently resigned as the Southern Province Governor while Maithri Gunaratne resigned as the Central Province Governor.   

  Comments - 5

  • Lion Monday, 05 August 2019 10:54 AM

    Job eka Labuna Sampath labuna

    chandra Monday, 05 August 2019 11:19 AM

    Hii haa ha ha haaa............

    Kumara Dharmarathne Monday, 05 August 2019 11:28 AM

    Mr. President, Resigned yesterday,re-appointed today. What is this joke? Even kids will laugh.

    NaSriLankan Monday, 05 August 2019 12:38 PM

    Musical chairs?.

    johan Monday, 05 August 2019 01:02 PM

    Pissang Kottuwa

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Kidneys that whisper death

A flute version of Beethoven’s ‘Für Elise’ was echoing from a distance

Burning Panamanian tanker leaves SL authorities gutted

Weeks after MV Wakashio, a Japanese-owned bulk carrier, ran aground a coral r

New Diamond on Fire

The fire has been contained, now where will the oil go?


To have received her son’s death certificate on the day she brought him to