MR to be sworn in as PM today

21 November 2019 12:07 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Lahiru Pothmulla 

Opposition Leader Mahinda Rajapaksa will be sworn in as Prime Minister before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa this afternoon, thus assuming premiership for the third time, sources said. 


Cabinet of caretaker government comprising 15 ministers is expected to be sworn in today or tomorrow 


He was appointed Prime Minister in 2004 and contested the presidential election in 2005 to be elected as the fifth Executive President. Upon his defeat at the presidential election in January 2015, he contested the general elections from Kurunegala to be elected to Parliament in August the same year. He was appointed premier by President Maithripala Sirisena in October 2018 and became Opposition Leader 52 days later. 

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has decided to appoint a caretaker government following the resignation of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Moreover, the Cabinet of the caretaker government comprising 15 ministers is expected to be sworn in today or tomorrow. 

Party leaders of the Joint Opposition and three SLFP MPs are expected to be appointed to the posts. Accordingly, Dinesh Gunawardana, Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Udaya Gammanpila, Douglas Devananda, Arumugam Thondaman and Nimal Siripala de Silva are expected to be included in the Cabinet.   

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Kidneys that whisper death

A flute version of Beethoven’s ‘Für Elise’ was echoing from a distance

Burning Panamanian tanker leaves SL authorities gutted

Weeks after MV Wakashio, a Japanese-owned bulk carrier, ran aground a coral r

New Diamond on Fire

The fire has been contained, now where will the oil go?


To have received her son’s death certificate on the day she brought him to