Eric Upashantha replaces Sajith Fernando in new selection committee

3 June 2018 01:40 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Mirrorcricket- Graeme La Brooy has been retained as chief cricket selector for another term along with Jeryl Wouterz, Gamini Wickremasinghe, Chandika Hathurusinghe (on tour selector) and Eric Upashantha.

They have been appointed for a period of one year.

Upashantha who was a member of the previous selection committee headed by Sanath Jayasuriya replaces former Sri Lanka first-class cricketer Sajith Fernando. La Brooy led committee took office after Jayasuriya led committee resigned en masse during a tour whitewash by India who won all three Tests, five one-dayers and one Twenty20 international in Sri Lanka.

Labrooy, 53, played nine Tests and 44 ODIs from 1986-92. 

NOTE: We inadvertently rreported that Ranjith Madurasingha has been appointed to the selection committee when the position went to Eric Upashantha. We regret the error.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Murder most foul

Sixty-one years ago on September 25, 1959 Solomon West Ridgeway Dias Bandaran

What went wrong in Kandy?

Tragedy struck when a five-storey building caved in and collapsed, killing a

The 20th Amendment Bill Lest We Forget

Strident calls were repeatedly made from many quarters for the 19th Amendment

Public transport 'side-laned'?

“Miss, mantheeru neethiya nisa api bus passen yanna one. Ithin drop eka par