JVP dissidents removed from politburo

2 January 2012 04:45 pm - 1     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) which held its special convention on Sunday has appointed a five-member politburo with dissidents Pubudu Jayagoda, G. Kularatne and Dimuthu Attigalle being excluded from it.

Although previously the politburo consisted of eight members, the highest policy making body now consists of only five members – JVP Leader Somawansa Amarasinghe, General Secretary Tilvin Silva, Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Vijitha Herath and K.D. Lal Kantha.

Mr. Herath has once again been appointed as the party’s propaganda secretary with Mr. Dissanayake as the Finance Secretary and Mr. Lal Kantha as the Administration Secretary.
The Central Committee appoints members to the politburo while the Central Committee is appointed at a convention by the party rank and file.
At Sunday’s special convention the JVP reconstituted the 25-member central committee after expelling nine dissidents. The JVP also vowed to fight against the neo-liberal economic policies of this government. (Kelum Bandara)

  Comments - 1

  • ADAHAN Tuesday, 03 January 2012 03:28 AM

    The lions have got the lion share.

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Public transport 'side-laned'?

“Miss, mantheeru neethiya nisa api bus passen yanna one. Ithin drop eka par

Land acquisitions in Hanthana and Knuckles Mountain ranges

Sri Lankans will soon lose their opportunity to boast about the rich biodiver

Wanathawilluwa forest clearance: Whodunit?

Days after the Anawilundawa Ramsar Wetland, situated in Puttalam District, ma

‘I’m scared to see her face’

On August 13, a woman happened to meet a child who was in desperate need of h